The Need To Put Things On Paper

It is fascinating, how things want to be said,

want to be shown,

want to come out and be expressed.

I used to want to write, when I was in Bulgaria.

It was a need, when it came, I had to, HAD to find a paper and a pen so I can put them together and whatever was in me could tumble out. Sometimes it poured, like milk in a glass, thick and shiny with pearly bubbles,

sometimes it stretched, like a piece of Turkish delight – slow and sticky, heavy and sweet.

Now, I do not write anymore. No more poems.

I..don’t know what language to use anymore. The words are like a lego pieces of different sets, colourful and sharp-edged, they create these wonderful shapes in my head, but when the others look at them, they stay rigid and awkward.

But I still have the need to do something,

It is like a cough – you cannot stop it, it’s an itch on your elbow that you have to reach and scratch,

like a long-held breath that you have to let out.

Now I sketch. I doodle.

Like a child in a rainy afternoon, sitting by the window and seeing shapes in the clouds. I don’t pretend that my doodles are any good… they just come out on the paper, because they cannot stay in me anymore.

It’s fascinating.

Image

Image

Image

potatoes and chicken

One thought on “The Need To Put Things On Paper

Leave a comment